Hugo Award Winners

Add to my lists | Print this list

Given annually by World Science Fiction Society (WSFS), the Hugo Award honors excellence in science fiction, and was named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, ‘the Father of Magazine Science Fiction.’ Winners are determined by a committee of the WSFS at its annual World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon.) Nominations are taken from a popular vote of the membership of the WSFS. Hugo Awards are normally given in a particular year for work that appeared in the previous calendar year. The Hugo was first awarded in 1953.

Pages: 1

  1. 1946
    The Mule: From Foundation and Empire
    by Isaac Asimov

  2. 1951
    Farmer in the Sky
    by Robert A. Heinlein

  3. 1953
    The Demolished Man
    by Alfred Bester

  4. 1954
    Fahrenheit 451
    by Ray Bradbury

  5. 1955
    They'd Rather Be Right (Starblaze Editions)
    by Mark Clifton

  6. 1956
    Double Star
    by Robert A. Heinlein

  7. 1958
    The Big Time
    by Fritz Leiber

  8. 1959
    A Case of Conscience (Del Rey Impact)
    by James Blish

  9. 1960
    Starship Troopers
    by Robert A. Heinlein

  10. 1961
    A Canticle for Leibowitz (Bantam Spectra Book)
    by Walter M. Miller Jr.

  11. 1962
    Stranger in a Strange Land (Remembering Tomorrow)
    by Robert A. Heinlein

  12. 1963
    The Man in the High Castle
    by Philip K. Dick

  13. 1964
    Way Station (SF Collector's Edition)
    by Clifford D. Simak

  14. 1965
    The Wanderer
    by Fritz Leiber

  15. 1966
    by Frank Herbert

  16. 1966
    ... And Call Me Conrad (aka This Immortal
    by Roger Zelazny

  17. 1967
    The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress
    by Robert A. Heinlein

  18. 1968
    Lord of Light
    by Roger Zelazny

  19. 1969
    Stand on Zanzibar
    by John Brunner

  20. 1970
    The Left Hand of Darkness
    by Ursula K. Le Guin

  21. 1971
    by Larry Niven

  22. 1972
    To Your Scattered Bodies Go (Riverworld Saga, Book 1)
    by Philip Jose Farmer

  23. 1973
    The Gods Themselves
    by Isaac Asimov

  24. 1974
    Rendezvous with Rama
    by Arthur C. Clarke

  25. 1975
    The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia
    by Ursula K. Le Guin

  26. 1976
    The Forever War
    by Joe Haldeman

  27. 1977
    Where Late The Sweet Birds Sang: A Novel
    by Kate Wilhelm

  28. 1978
    Gateway (Heechee Saga)
    by Frederik Pohl

  29. 1979
    by Vonda McIntyre

  30. 1980
    The Fountains of Paradise
    by Arthur C. Clarke

  31. 1981
    The Snow Queen
    by Joan D. Vinge

  32. 1982
    Downbelow Station (Alliance-Union Universe)
    by C. J. Cherryh

  33. 1983
    Foundation's Edge (Foundation Novels)
    by Isaac Asimov

  34. 1984
    Startide Rising (The Uplift Saga, Book 2)
    by David Brin

  35. 1985
    by William Gibson

  36. 1986
    Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet)
    by Orson Scott Card

  37. 1987
    Speaker for the Dead (The Ender Quintet)
    by Orson Scott Card

  38. 1988
    The Uplift War (The Uplift Saga, Book 3)
    by David Brin

  39. 1989
    by C.J. Cherryh

  40. 1990
    by Dan Simmons

  41. 1991
    The Vor Game
    by Lois McMaster Bujold

  42. 1992
    by Lois McMaster Bujold

  43. 1993
    Doomsday Book
    by Connie Willis

  44. 1993
    A Fire Upon The Deep (Zones of Thought)
    by Vernor Vinge

  45. 1994
    Green Mars (Mars Trilogy)
    by Kim Stanley Robinson

  46. 1995
    Mirror Dance
    by Lois McMaster Bujold

  47. 1997
    Blue Mars (Mars Trilogy)
    by Kim Stanley Robinson

  48. 1998
    Forever Peace
    by Joe Haldeman

  49. 1999
    To Say Nothing of the Dog
    by Connie Willis

Pages: 1

This is a community list. You can contribute, edit, or help maintain it by adding it to your lists.
Created by Robot Co-op on Nov 30, 2005.


retro hugos — 1 year ago

It doesn’t make sense to include Fahrenheit 451 and not include the other 2 retro winners.

Untitled — 2 years ago

Added both Blackout and All Clear, the two volumes that together won the 2011 award.


Added two more of the Retro. Hugo award winners ... — 5 years ago

I added …

Farmer in the Sky, Heinlein – 1951 (Awarded in 2001)

The Mule (Part/Book II of Foundation and Empire), Asimov – 1946 (Awarded in 1996)

It seemed unfair to have Fahrenheit 451 as the only retro award winner. It was written in 1954 but awarded in 2004. I know the Retrospective Hugo’s often cause a bit of debate. But hey, what’s an award without a little drama?

An alternative that may appease those who think judging books 50 years or more, after the fact, isn’t truly keeping with the Hugo Award’s spirit, would be to add the three books in their own list and maybe provide a link at the top of the description here for relation.

Untitled — 7 years ago

So this was where Miles was hiding — I knew Bujold had more awards!

I added Zelazny's name as author and the alternate — 7 years ago

title for And Call Me Conrad (This Immortal). It’s no wonder that so few people have marked the book as read. Almost no one knows the book under that title!


List Updates — 8 years ago

I decided to add the years to the Hugos and uncovered a few changes. First, in 2004, the WSFS corrected an oversight by awarding the 1954 Hugo award to Fahrenheit 451. Also, I added the 1958 winner The Big Time. Finally, I changed the 1986 reference to link to the single novel Ender’s Game rather than the boxed set of the Ender’s series.

Login with Facebook