Pulitzer Prize Winners for Novel/Fiction

Add to my lists | Print this list

The Pulitzer Prize, started by New York World publisher Joseph Pulitzer (1847-1911), is awarded each year for books published the previous year. In 1948, the name of the category was changed from Novel to Fiction.

During some years (1917, 1920, 1941, 1946, 1954, 1957, 1964, 1971, 1974, 1977 and 2012) no award was given.

Pages: 1

  1. 1918
    His Family
    by Ernest Poole

  2. 1919
    The Magnificent Ambersons
    by Booth Tarkington

  3. 1921
    The Age of Innocence
    by Edith Wharton

  4. 1922
    Alice Adams
    by Booth Tarkington

  5. 1923
    One Of Ours
    by Willa Cather

  6. 1924
    The Able McLaughlins
    by Margaret Wilson

  7. 1925
    So Big (Perennial Classics)
    by Edna Ferber

  8. 1926
    Arrowsmith (Signet Classics)
    by Sinclair Lewis

  9. 1927
    Early Autumn: A Story of a Lady
    by Louis Bromfield

  10. 1928
    The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Perennial Classics)
    by Thornton Wilder

  11. 1929
    Scarlet Sister Mary (Brown Thrasher Books)
    by Julia Peterkin

  12. 1930
    Laughing Boy (Signet Classics (Paperback))
    by Oliver LA Farge

  13. 1931
    Years of Grace
    by Margaret Ayer Barnes

  14. 1932
    The Good Earth (Enriched Classics)
    by Pearl S. Buck

  15. 1933
    The Store
    by T. S. Stribling

  16. 1934
    Lamb in His Bosom (Modern Southern Classics)
    by Caroline Miller

  17. 1935
    Now in November
    by Josephine W. Johnson

  18. 1936
    Honey in the Horn
    by H.L. Davis

  19. 1937
    Gone with the Wind
    by Margaret Mitchell

  20. 1938
    The Late George Apley
    by John P. Marquand

  21. 1939
    The Yearling (Aladdin Classics)
    by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

  22. 1940
    The Grapes of Wrath (Centennial Edition)
    by John Steinbeck

  23. 1942
    In This Our Life
    by Ellen Glasgow

  24. 1943
    Dragon's Teeth II (World's End)
    by Upton Sinclair

  25. 1944
    Journey in the Dark
    by Martin Flavin

  26. 1945
    A Bell for Adano
    by John Hersey

  27. 1947
    All the King's Men
    by Robert Penn Warren

  28. 1948
    Tales of the South Pacific
    by James A. Michener

  29. 1949
    Guard of Honor
    by James Gould Cozzens

  30. 1950
    The Way West
    by A. B. Guthrie Jr.

  31. 1951
    The Town: Third Book In Awakening Land Trilogy
    by Conrad Richter

  32. 1952
    The Caine Mutiny: A Novel
    by Herman Wouk

  33. 1953
    The Old Man and The Sea
    by Ernest Hemingway

  34. 1955
    A Fable
    by William Faulkner

  35. 1956
    Andersonville (Plume)
    by MacKinlay Kantor

  36. 1958
    A Death in the Family
    by James Agee

  37. 1960
    Advise and Consent
    by Allen Drury

  38. 1961
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    by Harper Lee

  39. 1962
    The Edge of Sadness (Loyola Classics)
    by Edwin O'Connor

  40. 1963
    The Reivers
    by William Faulkner

  41. 1965
    The Keepers of the House
    by Shirley Ann Grau

  42. 1966
    The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter
    by Katherine Anne Porter

  43. 1967
    The Fixer (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics)
    by Bernard Malamud

  44. 1968
    The Confessions of Nat Turner
    by William Styron

  45. 1969
    House Made of Dawn (Perennial Classics)
    by N. Scott Momaday

  46. 1970
    The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford
    by Jean Stafford

  47. 1972
    Angle of Repose (Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics)
    by Wallace Stegner

  48. 1973
    The Optimist's Daughter
    by Eudora Welty

  49. 1975
    The Killer Angels
    by Michael Shaara

Pages: 1

This is a community list. You can contribute, edit, or help maintain it by adding it to your lists.
Created by Robot Co-op on Nov 30, 2005.


Pages: Pages: 1 3

2007 the road deleted — 4 years ago

2007 the road by cormac mccarthy was deleted. could someone please add it back along with 1937 gone with the wind by margaret mitchell. thanks.

GWTW gone again! — 4 years ago

I just realized that Gone With the Wind has disappeared off the list. I would add it, but I’m not sure how.

2009 winner added — 5 years ago

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Updates — 5 years ago

Added 1939 winner The Yearling which was missing from the list. Moved 1930 winner Laughing Boy to its correct spot in the list (between 1929 and 1931).

Added books — 5 years ago

I just added His Family and the Magnificent Ambersons back onto the list. I checked against the official list so it should be complete and I hope it stays that way. :)

deleted books — 5 years ago

And what happened to the 70’s?

missing page — 5 years ago

It looks like the whole first page was deleted. Anyone know how to get it back?

2008 Winner — 6 years ago

Has just been announced: “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz.

Re-added His Family and Alice Adams — 6 years ago

Re-added His Family and Alice Adams

Moved "Gone with the Wind" — 6 years ago

Moved Gone with the Wind back into place, and added the year it won. Hope that didn’t stuff anything up!

Pages: Pages: 1 3

Login with Facebook