The Thomas Cook Travel Book Award

Add to my lists | Print this list

The Travel Book Award was founded by The Thomas Cook Group in 1980, with the aim of encouraging and rewarding the art of literary travel writing, and to inspire in the reader the wish to travel.

  1. 1990

  2. 1981
    Old Glory : A Voyage Down the Mississippi
    by Jonathan Raban

  3. 1982
    The Sinbad Voyage (Thorndike Large Print Popular Series)
    by Timothy Severin

  4. 1983
    From Heaven Lake: Travels Through Sinkiang and Tibet
    by Vikram Seth

  5. 1984
    To the Frontier: A Journey to the Khyber Pass
    by Geoffrey Moorhouse

  6. 1985
    So Far from God: A Novel
    by Ana Castillo

  7. 1986
    Between the Woods and the Water
    by Patrick Leigh Fermor

  8. 1988
    Behind the Wall: A Journey Through China
    by Colin Thubron

  9. 1989
    Riding the Iron Rooster
    by Paul Theroux

  10. 1991
    In Search of Conrad

  11. 1992
    A Goddess in the Stones: Travels in India
    by Norman Lewis

  12. 1993
    The Heart of the World
    by Nik Cohn

  13. 1994
    City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi
    by William Dalrymple

  14. 1996
    Frontiers of heaven: A journey beyond the Great Wall
    by Stanley Stewart

  15. 1997
    Clear Waters Rising: A Mountain Walk Across Europe
    by Nicholas Crane

  16. 1998
    Yemen: Travels in Dictionary Land
    by Tim MacKintosh-Smith

  17. 1999
    The Spirit-Wrestlers

  18. 2000
    An Unexpected Light: Travels in Afghanistan
    by Jason Elliot

  19. 2002
    Red Dust: A Path Through China
    by Ma Jian

  20. 2004
    Ghost Riders: Travels with American Nomads
    by Richard Grant

This is a community list. You can contribute, edit, or help maintain it by adding it to your lists.
Created by Robot Co-op on Nov 30, 2005.


Login with Facebook