Commonwealth Writers' Prize: Best First Book

Add to my lists | Print this list

The Commonwealth Foundation established the Commonwealth Writers Prize in 1987 to encourage and reward the upsurge of new Commonwealth fiction and ensure that works of merit reach a wider audience outside their country of origin.

deupree's progress compared to yours…
View list without comparison
  1. 1989
    Women of Influence
    by Bonnie Burnard

  2. 1990
    by John Cranna

  3. 1991
    Shape-shifter (Picador Books)
    by Pauline Melville

  4. 1992
    Divina Trace
    by Robert Antoni

  5. 1993
    The Thousand Faces of Night
    by Githa Hariharan

  6. 1994
    The Case of Emily V.
    by Keith Oatley

  7. 1995
    Seasonal Adjustments
    by Adib Khan

  8. 1996
    Red Earth and Pouring Rain: A Novel
    by Vikram Chandra

  9. 1997
    Fall On Your Knees (Oprah's Book Club)
    by Ann-Marie MacDonald

  10. 1998
    Angel Falls
    by Tim Wynveen

  11. 1999
    The Electrical Field: A Novel
    by Kerri Sakamoto

  12. 2000
    Prisoner in a Red-Rose Chain
    by Jeffrey Moore

  13. 2001
    White Teeth: A Novel
    by Zadie Smith

  14. 2002
    Ama: A Story of the Atlantic Slave Trade
    by Manu Herbstein

  15. 2003
    by Sarah Hall

  16. 2004
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    by Mark Haddon

  17. 2005
    Purple Hibiscus: A Novel
    by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

  18. 2006
    Suspended Sentences: Fictions of Atonement
    by Mark McWatt

  19. 2007
    Vandal Love
    by D. Y. Bechard

  20. 2008
    A Golden Age
    by Tahmima Anam

  21. 2009
    A Case of Exploding Mangoes
    by Mohammed Hanif

  22. 2010
    Siddon Rock
    by Glenda Guest

  23. 2011
    Man Melting, A

This is a community list. You can contribute, edit, or help maintain it by adding it to your lists.
Created by Robot Co-op on Nov 30, 2005.


Login with Facebook